All one

IMG_5646

2 dream images

lurched into view
while walking this
morning: one, a teenage
girl with studied
indifference toreadors
4WD Utes anti-
clockwise against
the roundabout
as if ruffling
fur
*
School holiday fun?
Sunlight gentle
as motes
sequinned the air
she swam, legs in
cutoff shorts
cycling
*
Brave, I thought,
dream me,
driving in this
dreamscape, turning
left, taking in sights
like a tourist
observing herself
among foreigners and
pausing to take
note/record
snaps
*
Two: more familiar
came the open mine
on my dream-left,
below, much as it
appeared in the plane
window flying home
to Perth last
June
*
Contoured like a
wedding cake mould,
monstrous & amazing
all in one
until – my eyes
off the dream road –
I began the descent
which sent fear
pebbledashing
down
slopes toward
terror
*
Was I concerned? Not
this dreamhero, rally driving
with planted accelerator to
fishtail back on cambered
track
*
Eyes on the road, I
reprimanded myself
*
Here, too, I can smile
at these words,
knowing, now, that the
bike rider, the driver, the
walker this morning are all
one
with the writer in
me
Leave a Reply

