RAWR

image

For PBH

At my friend’s
50th birthday
party I realise I am
the one having a
mid-life
crisis with 22 year
old daughter moving
out of home and
me grieving over
filled cardboard boxes,
suitcases like concrete
bollards sentinelled on the
back verandah, and
discarded clothing/
childhood setasides
deemed unsuited to
This New Life

Not until today
listening to The Pixies’
Surfer Rosa
as salve do I
realise that my heart
is griping, yet
Frank Black’s RAWR
Manga style, dinosaurish,
captures that feeling

Yes, and something more

Noticing – right there
RAWR
there is a
gladdening
which chinks
to make
light

Leave a Reply

